p.jpg

Dropbox Pro ups storage limits and security features

Dropbox is increasing storage space and adding new security features for Dropbox Pro users, while simplifying plans down to a single price.

Dropbox is boosting its feature set for Dropbox Pro users, adding passwords and expiration dates for shared links and remote wipe capabilities, as well as unifying plans into a single offering.

The changes will be available to all new Dropbox Pro users as of today, with the added features rolling out to existing Pro users over the coming days.

In recognition of the greater storage needs of Dropbox Pro users -- the paid service is billed as a more advanced option for prosumers compared to the entry-level free service -- Dropbox has upped storage to 1TB for Pro customers.

Previously, users could choose between 100GB, 200GB and 500GB of space, available for $9.99, $19.99 and $49.99 per month respectively (£7.99, £15.99, £39.99; AU$10.99, AU$21.99, $54.99). Now, despite the doubling of storage from the top tier, Dropbox Pro customers will be charged $9.99 per month for 1TB (£7.99, AU$10.99).

In addition to the new pricing structure, Dropbox is rolling out a number of new security features for customers. Users will now be able to add password-access to shared links as well as expiration dates -- Dropbox says this feature is valuable for users such as professional photographers who want clients to pay for images after a certain date. Users will also be able to create 'Edit' or 'View Only' permissions for those accessing shared files.

p2.jpg

p3.jpg

p4.jpg






p5.jpg